+91 8788091087 info.heramb@gmail.com

FSSAI License Online Registration

Food Safety Training & Certification Program (FoSTaC) is a training module that exhibits all aspects of food and safety norms to be inculcated during the involvement of any procedure related to food handling, production, processing and its utilization. As Per Order of FSSAI, Section 16(3)h of the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006, the Food Safety and Standards Authority of lndia mandates proper training of persons as Food Business Operator or employees who are involved in Food Businesses or need to be in the future. It has been accorded under the Central License or State License to have at least one trained Food Safety Supervisor for a minimum of 25 food handling staff on all their premises. The nature of business can be carried only after prior certification from a recognized food training partner authorized by the FSSAI.

FoSTAC Food Safety Manager Training and Certification is required by law in Country. Food Safety Training and Certification (FoSTaC) is required by law in the states of India. In terms of Section 16(3) h of the Food Safety and Standards Act 2006, the Food Safety Standards Authority of India has to ensure training of persons who are, or intend to become involved in Food Businesses, whether as Food Business Operators or employees or otherwise. As per FSSAI order dated October 6, 2017 it would be mandatory for all food businesses having Central License or State License to have at least one trained and certified Food Safety Supervisor for every 25 food handlers or part thereof on all their premise

Click here to download the said order.

fostac training

Types Of Food Safety Training and Certification (FoSTac)

17 types of Competence based certification programmes are available under FoSTaC. Duration of each course is of 8 to 12 hours spreading over 1 to 2 days. Course have been developers by domain experts and visited by expert committee of FSSAI. Training manuals are based on general hygiene or manufacturing practices as detailed under schedule 4 of FSS Regulation courses have been divided into following 3 levels.

Basic level certification are meant for food business. Duration of each course is of 4 hours. Course are: -

(1) Street Food Vending,(2) Catering,(3) Manufacturing / Processing,(4) Storage & Transport, and (5) Retail & Distribution

Advanced courses and certification are for State & Central Licensed food business. Duration of each course is 8 hours. Course are: -

(1) Catering (2) Manufacturing / Processing, (3) Storage & Transport, and (5) Retail & Distribution

Special course have been developed for high risk food business or The food business which require special attention. Duration of special course is 8-12 hours. Spread over 1-2 days. Course are: -

(1) Milk & Milk Products, (2) Meat & Poultry, (3) Fish & Sea Food, (4) Packaged Water, (5) Bakery (Level 1), (6) Bakery (Level 2), (7) Edible Oil and Fat, (8) Health Supplement

Additional training courses including customised courses could be introduced in due course as the need arises. Currently, courses are being offered on face to face mode, while this would be continued, but subject to availability of credible training partners, some of the courses could be allowed through online mode as well. FSSAI has created training content for the above courses. The same is currently available in English and is being translated in Hindi and 10regional languages.

Food Safety Training and Certification

Requisition of FSSAI:

The safety supervisor course is a must for every FBO. It is necessary for every hotel, dhaba, restaurant, rail and flight catering services, general caterers, canteens and any other organization involved in food business to procure a food safety supervisor course in due time.

Here is the list of categories which mandate the certification programs that a licensed FBO must obtain:

Apart from this, the law also maintains that retail and distribution of food and food products also go through a safety supervisor course so that the quality is not compromised.

There are perishable products which may become infested by bacterial infection like dairy, mushrooms and cheese. Therefore, it is also important to maintain their cooling in storage and during transportation. For this purpose too, a course is required.

Who provides FoSTAC training?

FoSTaC, a short training course is authorized exclusively by FSSAI but the training module is conducted by a trading partner. There are nine different types of courses categorized for different types of food businesses on different competency level and the FBO is responsible to ensure at least one trained and certified person in the premises to keep up with the food safety guidelines.


Every trainer or training organization imparts certification only under the aegis of FSSAI. The training agency is certified as a training partner which can come in different classifications as under:

1. Associations :

Professional bodies or individuals and Scientific Associations in the food sector at National, State or Regional level exceeding at least a 100 members.

2. Licensed Food Businesses :

Larger sized FBOs can also train other smaller FBOsincluding their peer groups, contractual manufactures and their personal staff.

3. Recognized Institutes Categorized Under Academic & Vocational Sections :

Various educational bodies like Universities, Colleges, Technical Institutes, Hotel Management Institutes, and other institutions can absorb and offer the FoSTaC certification curriculum in their existing courses or offer them optionally.

4. Training Providing Agency :

Corporations that have at least three years of experience at national or International level in training on food safety and/or nutrition including trading partners authenticated by different Sector Skill Councils and other Govt. Schemes.


OSS has been conducting various certification programs for different management systems, ISO certification and third party inspection. Being an organization that has established its name in the field of MSS training and certification, Food Safety audit programs and many others, it is of extreme pride that this company has been empanelled by the FSSAI to provide FoSTaCTraining /certification program to the Food Safety Supervisors of FBO’s personnel per their requirements.

To Participate in Food Safety Supervisor Training / certification course, you need to register yourself on FSSAI website as Trainee and choose the OSS as a training center amongst others. Once after completion of the course and Passing the examination, the Food Safety Supervisor certificate will be provided by FSSAI to the Participant those who have been passed/Qualified in examination.


Per Order of Food Safety and Standard Authority of India, Section 16(3)h of the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 dated 6th October 2017, Training becomes mandatory for All Central and State Licensed FBO (Food Business Operator ) under Food Safety Supervisor Act 2006 and so it is accorded under the Central License or State License to have at least one trained Food Safety Supervisor for a minimum of 25 food handling staff.


ANI Business standard ibtn9 newdelhitimes outlook yahoonews


    twitter icon facebook icon linkedin icon google plus icon